Search Members Help

» Welcome Guest
[ Log In :: Register ]

Mini-ITX Boards Sale, Fanless BareBones Mini-ITX, Bootable 1G DSL USBs, 533MHz Fanless PC <-- SALE $200 each!
Get The Official Damn Small Linux Book. DSL Market , Great VPS hosting provided by Tektonic
Pages: (5) </ 1 2 3 4 [5] >/

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

reply to topic new topic new poll
Topic: Atheros WLAN card do not work< Next Oldest | Next Newest >
john.martzouco Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 253
Joined: Nov. 2007
Posted: Dec. 08 2007,11:33 QUOTE

Having same issue... ath0 works fine with WEP... can't figure out how to hook up WPA.

Do I need to rmmod any or all of the ath_ modules and then use ndiswrapper?
Back to top
Profile PM 
john.martzouco Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 253
Joined: Nov. 2007
Posted: Dec. 08 2007,17:32 QUOTE

Okay, following fightie's first post from this thread, I've removed the ath modules in this order:

Code Sample
rmmod ath_pci
rmmod ath_rate_sample
rmmod ath_hal


Then I installed ndiswrapper (only needs to be done once):

Code Sample
ndiswrapper -i <file>.inf


Then I probed ndiswrapper (might need to do every boot):

Code Sample
modprobe ndiswrapper


Then I checked status (not necessary for functionality):

Code Sample
iwconfig
dmesg


Then I got WPA running, using this trimmed down configuration file (dots replaced by my settings):

Code Sample
network={
 ssid="...."
 psk="...."
}


The startup command for WPA:

Code Sample
wpa_supplicant -B dd -c <wpa_settings.conf> -i wlan0 -D ndiswrapper


Then I ran the GUI netcardconfig from the DSL Control Panel and assigned static IP... gateway and DNS servers came in automatically.  When I hit Apply and had the "reset next time" option ticked, the utility created /opt/wlan0.sh for me.

Finally, I added all of this to my /opt/bootlocal.sh as follows, using the wlan0.sh created for me:

Code Sample
# dynex cardbus wpa
rmmod ath_pci
rmmod ath_rate_sample
rmmod ath_hal
modprobe ndiswrapper
wpa_supplicant -B dd -c /home/dsl/config/wifi/wpa_supplicant_short.conf -i wlan0 -D ndiswrapper
/home/dsl/config/wifi/wlan0.sh &


Is there a boot code to disable the ath_ modeules from loading up?

Is there an advantage to leaving the ampersand after the execution of wlan0.sh?
Back to top
Profile PM 
curaga Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 2163
Joined: Feb. 2007
Posted: Dec. 09 2007,12:24 QUOTE

If you add the modules to the blacklist file in /etc, they won't be loaded.. Don't remember the name of that file though, might be something like blacklist.modprobe

The advantage is that boot can continue while your wlan gets settings in the background, ie faster boot.


--------------
There's no such thing as life. Those mean little jocks invented it ;)
-
Windows is not a virus. A virus does something!
Back to top
Profile PM 
john.martzouco Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 253
Joined: Nov. 2007
Posted: Dec. 09 2007,15:24 QUOTE

Does anyone know what the name of the blacklist file is please?

Thanks
Back to top
Profile PM 
23 replies since Jan. 23 2007,21:24 < Next Oldest | Next Newest >

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

Pages: (5) </ 1 2 3 4 [5] >/
reply to topic new topic new poll
Quick Reply: Atheros WLAN card do not work

Do you wish to enable your signature for this post?
Do you wish to enable emoticons for this post?
Track this topic
View All Emoticons
View iB Code