Search Members Help

» Welcome Guest
[ Log In :: Register ]

Mini-ITX Boards Sale, Fanless BareBones Mini-ITX, Bootable 1G DSL USBs, 533MHz Fanless PC <-- SALE $200 each!
Get The Official Damn Small Linux Book. DSL Market , Great VPS hosting provided by Tektonic
Pages: (3) </ 1 [2] 3 >/

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

reply to topic new topic new poll
Topic: Accessing .dsl packages< Next Oldest | Next Newest >
henk1955 Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 249
Joined: June 2004
Posted: Nov. 11 2004,21:57 QUOTE

i think you can (question 1):

1 use dd to create a file as big as you want, name it hdb.img
2 add -hdb hdb.img to the long command line in dsl-windows.bat
3. start up dsl-embeded
4. open XShels-root access
5 type mke2fs /dev/hdb
6 aswer y to proceed anyway?
7. mount /mnt/hdb
8. copy *.dsl to /mnt/hdb

(question 2)
one of dsl boot options is mydsl=
if you enter: dsl mydsl=hdb
it will load your extensions from the hdb drive


--------------
You have a Q or just want to chat?
Come to #damnsmalllinux on irc.freenode.net!
Open 24/7

dell latitude c640 p4@1.6Ghz 256Mb DSL0.9.1-remaster
asus p4p800-vm p4@2.8Ghz HT / celeron@2.4Ghz 512Mb DSL0.9.1-remaster (alsadebs.dsl)
ABit BE6 celeron@466 256Mb DSL0.9.1-remaster (xawtv)
Back to top
Profile PM WEB MSN 
roberts Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 4983
Joined: Oct. 2003
Posted: Nov. 11 2004,22:01 QUOTE

I made it 60BM so that everything would fit nicely on a 128MB pendrive.
But you can make your own. Especially if this is sitting in a windows folder on a hard drive.
I made the one is dsl-embedded on a DSL system like this from a root shell:

dd of=harddisk bs=1024 seek=60000 count=0
mke2fs harddisk

Now if you also want to pre-load it up with a bunch of .dsl then in DSL
mount harddisk /mnt/test -o loop

then copy over the .dsl that you have downloaded to /mnt/test
umount /mnt/test

Then copy over your "new" harddisk into the windows folder.
Back to top
Profile PM WEB 
henk1955 Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 249
Joined: June 2004
Posted: Nov. 11 2004,22:06 QUOTE

Brian,

i run dsl-0.8.4 embeded in dsl

Code Sample
#!/bin/bash
exec ./qemu  -L . -hda harddisk -hdb hdb.img -cdrom dsl-0.8.4.iso -boot d -m 256 -enable-audio -user-net -localtime


this works i have hda, hdb and boot cdrom
i think this is posible in windows to


--------------
You have a Q or just want to chat?
Come to #damnsmalllinux on irc.freenode.net!
Open 24/7

dell latitude c640 p4@1.6Ghz 256Mb DSL0.9.1-remaster
asus p4p800-vm p4@2.8Ghz HT / celeron@2.4Ghz 512Mb DSL0.9.1-remaster (alsadebs.dsl)
ABit BE6 celeron@466 256Mb DSL0.9.1-remaster (xawtv)
Back to top
Profile PM WEB MSN 
roberts Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 4983
Joined: Oct. 2003
Posted: Nov. 12 2004,00:53 QUOTE

Sure does work in windows. For a real simple test, just use windows and copy harddisk to harddiskB then add another option in dsl-windows.bat -hdb harddiskB
Then boot up and you will see the mount.app display of both hda and hdb
Back to top
Profile PM WEB 
ewanrg Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: July 2004
Posted: Nov. 12 2004,14:34 QUOTE

Thanks! This looks like everything I need to know (and then some)!

Now all I have to do is to find some time to try this out :-)
Back to top
Profile PM 
12 replies since Nov. 10 2004,21:14 < Next Oldest | Next Newest >

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

Pages: (3) </ 1 [2] 3 >/
reply to topic new topic new poll
Quick Reply: Accessing .dsl packages

Do you wish to enable your signature for this post?
Do you wish to enable emoticons for this post?
Track this topic
View All Emoticons
View iB Code