Search Members Help

» Welcome Guest
[ Log In :: Register ]

Mini-ITX Boards Sale, Fanless BareBones Mini-ITX, Bootable 1G DSL USBs, 533MHz Fanless PC <-- SALE $200 each!
Get The Official Damn Small Linux Book. DSL Market , Great VPS hosting provided by Tektonic
Pages: (85) </ ... 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 15 16 17 ... >/

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

reply to topic new topic new poll
Topic: ReMastering HOWTO for DSL, Also for newbies and other enthusiasts< Next Oldest | Next Newest >
meo Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 552
Joined: April 2004
Posted: Sep. 21 2004,16:35 QUOTE

Dear Islander!

I don't really know if it is possible to do what you describe using a cd-rw. I use a usb-drive to save my stuff and it works just fine.

Have fun,
meo


--------------
"Live and let live"   Treat others the way you want to be treated because that's what you should expect from them.

"All that is very well," answered Candide, "but let us cultivate our garden." - Francois-Marie Arouet Voltaire
Back to top
Profile PM 
meo Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 552
Joined: April 2004
Posted: Sep. 22 2004,17:51 QUOTE

First a little comment to Fordi. I don't assume that the way I use to remaster DSL is the best. Your suggestion might be better. But the way I do it I understand and as previously noted I'm a selflearned linux-enthusiast with no formal computer education whatsoever.

I have found some peculiarities with the newest version of DSL when it comes to remastering. It doesn't seem possible to add new directories to the source. That and the fact that it is virtually impossible to get hold of good 50 MB cd-r's here in Sweden are some of the reasons to the new remaster I've put together. Here it comes:

Remastering & Mkmydsl HOWTO for Damn Small Linux

Change the keyboard-layout (unless you have a us keyboard)

$sudo loadkeys se-latin1   (I have a swedish keyboard-layout)

Format the partition with the ext2 filesystem

$sudo mke2fs /dev/hda3

Become root and mount the right partition

$sudo su
#mount -rw /dev/hda1 /mnt/hda1
#mount -rw /dev/hda3 /mnt/hda3

Make the directories needed

#mkdir /mnt/hda3/source
#mkdir /mnt/hda3/newcd
#mkdir /mnt/hda3/newcd/KNOPPIX

Copy necessary files to directory /newcd

#cp -Rp /cdrom/boot /mnt/hda3/newcd
#cp -Rp /cdrom/lost+found /mnt/hda3/newcd
#cp -Rp /cdrom/index.html /mnt/hda3/newcd
#cp -Rp /mnt/hda1/Dokument /mnt/hda3/newcd    (Docs I want on my disc)
#cp -Rp /mnt/hda1/optional /mnt/hda3/newcd        (The "optional" directory)
#cp -Rp /mnt/hda1/Bootload/* /mnt/hda3/newcd    (Modules I want to load at boottime)

Copy the sources to the right directory

#cp -Rp /KNOPPIX/* /mnt/hda3/source
#cp -Rp /KNOPPIX/.bash_profile /mnt/hda3/source

Go through and copy wanted things to /mnt/hda3/source

#cp -Rp /mnt/hda1/backgrounds/* /mnt/hda3/source/usr/share/fluxbox
#cp -Rp /mnt/hda1/styles/* /mnt/hda3/source/usr/share/fluxbox/styles
#cp -Rp /mnt/hda1/Skins/* /mnt/hda3/source/etc/skel/.xmms/Skins

Create the custom compressed image file:

#mkisofs -R /mnt/hda3/source | create_compressed_fs - 65536 >
/mnt/hda3/newcd/KNOPPIX/KNOPPIX

Create the iso-file as follows:

#cd /mnt/hda3
#mkisofs -no-pad -l -r -J -no-emul-boot -boot-load-size 4 -boot-info-table -b boot/isolinux/isolinux.bin -c boot/isolinux/boot.cat -hide-rr-moved -o mydsl.iso newcd

Copy the iso-file to the first partition on your harddrive

#cp /mnt/hda3/mydsl.iso /mnt/hda1

I have opted for doing it all on a 210 MB cd-r wich gives plenty of space for things I want to have handy.

Hopefully these thoughts are to the benefit and fun for someone!

Have fun,
meo


--------------
"Live and let live"   Treat others the way you want to be treated because that's what you should expect from them.

"All that is very well," answered Candide, "but let us cultivate our garden." - Francois-Marie Arouet Voltaire
Back to top
Profile PM 
Gabor Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: Sep. 2004
Posted: Sep. 28 2004,16:11 QUOTE

... a newbie ...
I installed some application (to ramdisk) and configured them, but I would like to burn the new CD with installed applications and it would be good if the installed apps would start after boot up automatically. Basicly I installed the Camserv and V4L by synaptic and then configured the network card, modified the Camserv.cfg and started up the Monkey web server.

I did it next way but it does not seem to work, because the apps are not on the new CD.
Should I copy something else? What exactly or how?

$sudo su
mke2fs /dev/hda3
#mount -rw /dev/hda1 /mnt/hda1
#mount -rw /dev/hda3 /mnt/hda3
#mkdir /mnt/hda3/source
#mkdir /mnt/hda3/newcd
#mkdir /mnt/hda3/newcd/KNOPPIX

/* I installed my apps and cfg here */

#cp -Rp /cdrom/boot /mnt/hda3/newcd
#cp -Rp /cdrom/lost+found /mnt/hda3/newcd
#cp -Rp /cdrom/index.html /mnt/hda3/newcd

Copy the sources to the right directory

#cp -Rp /KNOPPIX/* /mnt/hda3/source
#cp -Rp /KNOPPIX/.bash_profile /mnt/hda3/source

Go through and copy wanted things to /mnt/hda3/source

#cp -Rp /mnt/hda1/Docs/* /mnt/hda3/source/home/dsl
#cp -Rp /mnt/hda1/styles/* /mnt/hda3/source/usr/share/fluxbox/styles

#mkisofs -R /mnt/hda3/source | create_compressed_fs - 65536 > /mnt/hda3/newcd/KNOPPIX/KNOPPIX
#cd /mnt/hda3
#mkisofs -no-pad -l -r -J -no-emul-boot -boot-load-size 4 -boot-info-table -b boot/isolinux/isolinux.bin -c boot/isolinux/boot.cat -hide-rr-moved -o mydsl.iso newcd


I find and tried something like that:
#mount -t proc /proc proc
(Connect to internet)
#dpkg-restore
#nano /etc/apt/sources.list  (Change to the testing branch)
Add and remove packages to your liking
#umount /proc
#ctrl+D
maybe I am wrong but it does not seem to work either.
Could help me some one?
Thx!

Gabor
Back to top
Profile PM 
stoneguy Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 38
Joined: Jan. 2004
Posted: Oct. 01 2004,02:12 QUOTE

This is way confusing...

My goal is to build 250MB LiveCDs that can be used on systems running some flavour of Windows which don't necessarily have an internet connection. They will range from 64MB 133mx to modern systems with adequate quantities of RAM. Once I get that nailed down, I'd like to add the ability to install DSL if there's unallocated HD space.

The build system is a dual boot Win98/Linux system with a single ext3 partition (plus swap), and a single bootable CDRW.

First off, the examples all start off by creating a blank target partition. Is there some reason I can't use subdirectories on my Linux partition in place of hda1 and hda3 in the examples?

Just why does the last step copy the iso back to hda1? I might want to do that so I can burn under Windows, but is that what is being assumed?

Also, what kind of module should go in /optional?  Some components (like j2re) are available as both uci and tar.gz. I got a vague impression that uci files are just for hotloading, but I'm not certain. I want my LiveCD to contain Firefox plus some Bittorrent client to be selected at runtime, not preloaded into RAM.

I hope some of the participants here can set me on the right path.
Back to top
Profile PM 
meo Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 552
Joined: April 2004
Posted: Oct. 04 2004,10:28 QUOTE

Stoneguy!

I will soon shed some light on the matters brougt up by you. But for now I have been struggling to be able to make a remaster of DSL 0.8.2 and I just finished a cd to my liking this morning at 1.40 am. So later on I will give some explanations and post the full remaster-HOWTO as I have done it now.

Have fun everybody,
meo


--------------
"Live and let live"   Treat others the way you want to be treated because that's what you should expect from them.

"All that is very well," answered Candide, "but let us cultivate our garden." - Francois-Marie Arouet Voltaire
Back to top
Profile PM 
422 replies since April 14 2004,19:11 < Next Oldest | Next Newest >

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

Pages: (85) </ ... 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 15 16 17 ... >/
reply to topic new topic new poll
Quick Reply: ReMastering HOWTO for DSL

Do you wish to enable your signature for this post?
Do you wish to enable emoticons for this post?
Track this topic
View All Emoticons
View iB Code